95 Time FM News


Four schools in Bukedea closed due to floods

By: Melanie Aanyu

Aanyu Melanie | 95timefm

At least four government-aided primary schools in Kamutur Sub-county in Bukedea District have temporarily closed following a downpour.

The affected are Tajar and Acomai among others primary schools, leaving only three Akou-Etom, Abilaep, and Komongomeri primary schools.

Mr Jackson Ojekede, the Kamutur Sub-county chairperson, said at least 600 pupils are stranded at home since classrooms are waterlogged.

Mr Stanislaus Olinga, the head teacher of Acomai Primary School, said that the teachers have also been affected.

Ms Jane Anyango Agwang, the Bukedea District school inspector, said candidate classes were relocated to nearby schools.